Illinois smoking law turns 11
Eleven years ago, Illinois passed the Illinois Smoke Free Act which made it illegal to smoke within 15 feet of any entrance to a business.
Many residents have gotten used to the law after eleven years, but there is still one point of conflict between some smokers and businesses, and that would be drive-thrus.
Although customers are in their personal vehicles, the drive through window is considered an entrance and is therefore protected by the law.
Tony Dede with the Adams County Health Department urges residents to put out their cigarettes when going through a drive-thru.
"Be kind to your fellow citizens who are just trying to make a living when they're at those drive through windows. Just put out the cigarette before you go through the drive through. If you choose to continue, you have that choice once you get past that window."
If residents are caught breaking the Illinois Smoke Free Act, they can be charged a fine of anywhere from $100 to $250.