2018: New year, new laws
CHAMPAIGN, ILL. (WCCU) —
A new year calls for new laws in the state of Illinois, as more than 200 new state laws take effect on January 1, 2018.
Many of the laws on the list will just make minor tweaks and changes to current rules and regulations, but others will bring more noticeable changes.
House Bill 2369 will require public and charter schools to provide reasonable breastfeeding accommodations for students.
Karima Isberg is a Board-certified lactation specialist at Carle Foundation Hospital. Isberg said this law will bring much-needed change.
"One of the difficulties I have talked about with teen moms is they're not able to find the space and the time to pump as they need to," Isberg said.
House Bill 1805 also applies to Illinois teens, allowing 16 and 17-year-old residents to register as an organ donor when receiving their driver's license or ID card.
Under current Illinois law, organ donors must be at least 18 years old. This will change beginning January 1, as Illinois joins 47 other states in lowering the age limit.
Illinois Secretary of State Jesse White released a statement about the new age limit.
Secretary White said in part, “Our main priority is to save lives, thousands of Illinoisans are waiting for an organ this new law is an important step in reducing the number of individuals on the waiting list."
Soon-to-be driver, Tyler Campbell, said he’s excited to take advantage of this new law.
"When I do get my license, I definitely plan on becoming an organ donor," Campbell said.
House Bill 3172 is a vehicle safety law that's seen some changes since it was first introduced.
The bill will change the testing requirement for larger trucks that only travel in Illinois.
An Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) official said while at first the bill would've meant fewer safety inspections for school buses, that's no longer the case.
School buses will still undergo semi-annual inspections, but trucks will only have to be checked once every year.
Click here to learn more about the Illinois state laws that will take effect January 1.